Options

Airports to avoid

All who have visited here have probably read about my disdain for terminal five at London Heathrow. At least for the time being you can add Miami International. The ‘AirTrain’ has been shut down since September due to minor cracking is some of the concrete support structure. This sounds like an in service repair item, but I’m not an engineer nor a Dade County (runs the airport) idiot. Making our connection from SXM to SFO thru MIA we walked for miles. Our traveling companions on a different flight were smarter … they stole an unoccupied golf cart to get to their gate in time for departure. With the AirTrain operating, doing an international connection thru MIA is challenging … minimum of two hours. Without the AirTrain, it is a place to avoid.

Comments

• Options

We experienced the same thing on our way to South America last October. We had 5-6 hours for our connection so it wasn't and issue and no doubt because we weren't time pressed an empty golf cart driver stopped and offered us a ride.

I think this condition may exist for a while.

• Options
    edited January 30

It is easier to enter the country as an illegal alien than to enter through MIA with a valid US passport, TSA pre-check, and Global Entry. At least as an illegal alien you don’t have to claim and re-check your luggage? And for what reason. They examined our luggage without us being present. Is there any logical reason for the check and re-check procedure? They will even break the TSA locks if the please.

• Options

The claim and re-check procedure is not unique to MIA in the states. DFW does it as well. I imagine all US airports do the same process in this regard. I’ve missed connecting flights in DFW due to this process. The bags took almost an hour to appear so that you could claim them and start the process rolling. Sometimes you can do the process in under an hour, while other times you can’t complete it in two hours.

• Options

Sealord
    2:41PM edited 2:56PM