Options

Intra-tour flights and camera equipment

I am scheduled on the June tour "Spirit of the Desert" and have some questions/concerns regarding the two intra-tour flights on small aircraft. As a photographer, my camera bag is a bit larger than most. It is designed to meet all domestic and international requirements to fit in the overhead storage compartments so that I do not have to check it. However, Tauck's Journey document stipulates, "... only bags the size of purses or camera bags are allowed on the included intra-tour flights." The term "camera bags" in this sentence is vague and I'm wondering whether my bag meets this definition. My bag's external dimensions are 14"W x 22"H x 9"D, and weighs 30 lbs. with all my camera equipment.

Has anyone been on this tour with camera equipment, or experienced other travelers with camera equipment, who encountered size problems.

Thank you.
Steve

PS: Reading elsewhere in this Forum I gather that our luggage is stowed in the belly of the plane. Is this correct? This would imply that I can carry whatever camera bodies and lenses I might need during the flight and place the remainder of my equipment in the belly of the plane. Is this a correct assumption?

Comments

• Options
    edited May 2014