Average age of Tauck travelers?

Hi, this is my first time on a forum of any kind. My question may seem strange or ageist, but it’s not my intention. My in-laws loved Tauck tours and used them exclusively. When I mentioned to a travel agent friend that we were thinking of signing up for one, she made a face and said “Aren’t you a bit young for those?”. We are in our late 50’s and in pretty good shape - hike, walk long distances, swim, workout regularly. I want to make sure we will fit in with others on the tour. I always assumed we would, until doubts were planted by my travel agent friend. Any thoughts?

Comments

• We have been on a few and find that the higher the pace, the younger the people. Africa, Botswana, Zambia and S. Africa were 50’s and 60’s. There were two people well into their 70’s and they were the most active and pleasant to sit with as they had traveled extensively.

Australia and New Zealand we had people a little older. But you can go at an active pace. We set up Hot Air ballooning with our director early and paragliding in New Zealand. The nice thing we like are small groups and most people are educated, smart and excited about life.

We haven’t found anyone that was not a good sport.

• Thanks so much for your response KatieBee. I assumed as much and shouldn’t have given my friend’s comment too much credence. Sounds like you’ve been on some exciting tours! We look forward to taking our first one next year. Now we just have to decide which one!