Options

walking tours

we are scheduled for Rendezvous on the Seine in June 2024. We are trying to decide between the Marais walking tour and the Paris Islands walking tour. Any recommendation or insight from anyone on these 2 tours. Any recommendations would be appreciated.
Thank you.

Comments

• Options

The Marais area of Paris is a wonderfully vibrant area with something for all tastes--shopping, bars, restaurants, museums (the Picasso being one of them) and architecture. The area was once the Jewish Quarter and you can still find many kosher restaurants in the area. If you like falafel, try it there. Nearby is a lovely park that offers a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We strolled through this area after the end of a different Seine River cruise last April. It was not part of the Tauck tour so I don't know what Tauck would cover, but I would definitely recommend visiting there. I have no experience with the other walking tour. Enjoy your journey and please consider posting a review afterwards.

• Options
    edited March 24

We’re also on this trip in June, beginning on the 17th. We did a Tours by Locals walking tour of the Marais last spring; I agree it’s definitely worth seeing. You won’t have time on the Tauck tour for lunch, maybe you could grab a falafel while walking around. Messy but delicious!

We’re going to do the tour of the Ile de la Cite and the Ile Saint-Louis. We want to see the progress on Notre Dame and get some ice cream at Berthillon.

I’ve been to Paris several times, it really depends on what you are interested in seeing. You’ll be able to speak with the TD when you arrive about what will be covered, or call Tauck, they often have very detailed info. If you sign up for one then change your mind, it’s usually not a big deal. They should have 3 buses going, one for each walking tour, so there will be plenty of room.

• Options