Options

From My Experience - Top 10 Travel Tips For Your Safari

Having gone on one Tauck safari (most fantastic experience *ever*!) and gearing up for my second trip, here are some of my best tips I learned the first time around, most of which I followed but some (including #1 tip) I wish I HAD followed!

#1 BEST TIP - bring a good camera with a ZOOM lens. On my last safari I brought a Fuji Finepix point and shot camera. Although it took nice pictures, I was *very* disappointed in myself that I had not brought a camera with a strong zoom lens. There were animals that were further away that I could not get in close up shots. If you are not into photography, you don't need a DSLR or fancy camera, just an automatic camera with a strong zoom. This time around, after doing a lot of research, I bought a Canon Powershot SX40 HS (under $400), which has the equivalent of an 800mm zoom. Don't wait until your trip to learn how to use your camera either, I have been practicing for a few months learning how to use it. It also has the capability to take movies which eliminates the need to bring a separate video camera. I am also bringing a monopod. A tripod is too bulky, but a monopod is good for keeping the camera steady when the jeep has stopped and you have photo opportunities.

Tip #2 - bring good binoculars, especially ones that will auto focus. I brought Bushness Perma Focus binoculars which worked great and were reasonably priced.