Rhine & Moselle -- River levels Impacting Sailing

Just returned from the June 9th cruise southbound. The water levels in the Rhine are very high, and we could not sail all the way to Basel. We sailed only to just south of Mainz. The ship could also not sail up the Moselle, although we still got to Luxembourg, Cochem and Trier. Because this impacted all the other companies doing river cruises, docking is a problem, and we wound up docked in Gernsheim, a very small village which is primarily a container port north of Mannheim. My understanding is that the next tour leaving from Basel was to pick up the boat there. Our Tauck directors did a great job of arranging alternate travel. We did see Strasbourg and some other great places not on the original tour, including a fabulous stay in Lucerne. But it involves a lot of bus travel and packing and unpacking that we wished to avoid by taking the river cruise in the first place. I'm no expert, but having just left Basel and seeing the water level and currents in the Rhine there, I suspect this problem will exist for some time to come.

Comments

• edited July 2016
    Thank you, Jack47, for your update on the impact of the high water levels on Tauck's Rhine-Moselle itinerary. Sounds like the Tauck staff truly lived up to their reputation by responding well to the challenges caused by the flooding. Where did you stay in Lucern? Were there other cities where you stayed overnight, and if so, would you please let us know the names of the hotels and cities? Thanks.
  • There is also repair work scheduled for this summer on the lock between Strasbourg and Basel so some impact from that as well. Not a big deal if you don't dock in Basel. We did last year on the southbound cruise and where they dock you can't really walk off and go see Basel. Not a bad area, just not a tourist spot. Tours left the ship by bus whether they chose Lucerne or Basel for the day. We did Lucerne and loved it.