South Africa Elegant Adventure--July 18, 2014

This will be our first trip to South Africa, our first Tauck Tour and our first safari.We are complete newbies! We are New Yorkers and will be flying from Kennedy to Capetown with an hour layover at Heathrow. Return from Johannesburg to Kennedy also has a short layover at Heathrow. We plan to arrive a day early, June 17, and spend an extra day at that spectacularly beautiful Cape Grace Hotel. We're a mom and her 16 year old son who will be on this trip.
I'm hoping to meet fellow travelers from our tour on this site and, perhaps share ideas and questions.

Comments

• Hello, I am concerned you only have a onr hour layover at Heathrow, it is a huge and very busy airport and you will have to go through security at Heathrow, even though you will be airside. Having said that, the flights sometimes land early, so that will help. Hussle to get through the lines, obey all security regulations, like remove your iPads from your carry on and place on counter separately or you will be put through secondary security. Have on shoes that you can run in.
    Having said all this, it is a wonderful tour, half culture, half safari. For us, we particularly liked the cultural aspects like Robben Island and the Hector Pieterson museum. We went to the hospital museum where Christian Barnard did the first heart transplant from the Cape Grace hotel,the museum sends a car to collect you, there are brochures in the hotel or ask the concierge. Also Kirstenbosch Gardens is beautiful, but mindful of you having a sixteen year old with you, I am not sure about there, but the free hotel limo will take and collect you to it. We did these when we arrived two days before the tour began.
    Great hotel, had the best ever tasting menu meal there, I chose the vegan one with wine pairings. And it was fantastic, no I am not even a vegetarian!