Internet access for iPad mini

Can anyone tell me if they had service for their iPad (mini)?

I just got off the phone with Verizon and they told me that I can't get service in Tanzania for my iPad. Verizon told me I would have to rent something to have service in Tanzania. I have read a lot of things thru the forum about the trip, but have not seen anything about additional equipment, services, etc needed for Internet service for the iPad. ( I am all set for my phone).

Thanks.

Comments

• We were on a different Africa tour, and several members of our group were using iPads in the hotel lobbies where wifi was available (some free, some for a small fee).

I am not an expert, but it seems to me that if you are accessing the Internet via the hotel's wi-fi, you are not using your Verizon data plan.

For instance, at home I have wifi, at Starbucks I use their wifi, but if I am on the Internet riding in a car, I am using my ATT data plan.

Hopefully someone else can confirm this!
  • Yes, I used my ipad while in Kenya and Tanzania but the service was spotty. It is usually pretty good in the lobbies of the hotel but I also got service in my room but I don't remember which ones. Hope that helps
  • edited August 2014
    Ilene and Susan sound about right.

Verizon is talking about cellular phone and data- not Wi-Fi. Your iPad must be Wi-Fi capable- they all come that way. We didn 't activate cell data plans on either of our last two trips (England and Alps) but the Wi-Fi on my laptop and my wife's iPad worked just fine when/where there was a free wireless internet "hotspot" (e.g. Starbucks) or other wireless source (hotels). About two years ago Tauck started including free Wi-Fi on most, if not all, of their tours (in the hotels where Wi-Fi is available.) For your tour "Before You Go" states: "Complimentary basic Internet where available in hotel rooms; service levels are not guaranteed."