Wet suits for Reef snorkel trip

Are wet suits provided or rentable for the Great Barrier Reef snorkel trip? Anyone know? Going in November!

Comments

• Hi Gecko,

I'm no expert on these things, but when I did a similar reef excursion a few years ago no one wore wet suits for the snorkelling ... just their bathers and mask! I'm guessing this is because you will be enjoying tropical waters, making wet suits redundant .... It might be different if you were using diving gear and tanks and going down to greater depths.

Cheers,

Jan
  • When we did this trip a few years ago most of us who went in the water rented bright blue Lycra suits to protect us from possible jellyfish stings. They covered us from head to toe, and, frankly, we looked like a bunch of smurfs! I don' think they were particularly buoyant, but they did add a layer of warmth which was okay as it was a cloudy day. I don't recall seeing anyone in a wetsuit.
  • We were on the trip this past March. The bright blue Lycra suits did cover us from head to toe...funny pictures to look at later!! Everyone who went in the water wore them. It wasn't jellyfish season, but it was still suggested that we wear them and everyone took that suggestion. There was no cost for using the lycra suits, masks, or snorkels. If you have Lisa T. as your director you are in for an enthusiastic, hard-working, very pleasant, and knowledgeable person (as most of the Tour Directors are from our experiences). Enjoy!!
  • Smurfs, huh? :))))) My guess is, out of stinger season, they are to make it easier for you to be seen when in the water by the observers on the boat. No need to elaborate.

Cheers,

Jan
  • Uh, oh! Logically, if we were easy to spot by the observers, does it also mean we were possible "eye candy" for predators lurking about??? Yikes, Jan! I never thought of that!! In spite of our appearance (we do have some fabulous photos of us in our outfits) the "Grand..." trip was one of our all time favorites!!
    Joyce