Options

Photography in Italy--using tripods

Has anyone taken their tripods with them? I'm a fairly serious amateur photographer and am trying to prepare for the Classic Italy tour. I know in some museums and churches that tripods are not allowed. Does anyone have any info on this or any tips? Thanks in advance

Comments

• Options
    edited February 2018
    Has anyone taken their tripods with them? I'm a fairly serious amateur photographer and am trying to prepare for the Classic Italy tour. I know in some museums and churches that tripods are not allowed. Does anyone have any info on this or any tips? Thanks in advance

We did this tour in May 2016. I took a lot of photos. I did not take a tripod and never even considered it. Like most Tauck tours, unless you are on your own during free time, things move too fast to be able to use a tripod much. You just don't have time to set up a tripod and set the camera for a photo. Also, despite being a small group tour, in most places there will be other tourists- the one exception is the Vatican apartments and Sistine Chapel. It was nearly impossible to get a good shot of Michelangelo's Pieta in Saint Peter's due to the crowd and the heavy plexiglass wall in front of it. There are places where photography and/or flash were not permitted, thankfully, there were no restrictions in the Vatican and Sistine Chapel. Since this trip is often referred to as the ABC tour (another beautiful church tour) you will be looking up a lot at fabulous ceilings, etc. That is hard to do with a tripod. If you really think you need something to help you stabilize your camera, you might want to think about a collapsible monopod.

Sistine Chapel

361r.jpg

366r.jpg

364r.jpg

St. Peter's Basilica- typical crowd:

436r.jpg

435r.jpg

• Options
    Wow, I am sure there was no Plexiglass when we were there, shame but necessary these days, but no good for photos.
  • Options
    edited February 2018