Luggage Tracing Tags for android users

Can anyone tell me if they have used tracer luggage tags for android? I do not have any Apple electronics. If you have one does it actually work? I am just worried about my luggage with all the missing/delayed bags lately. Thank you.

Comments

• I have no direct experience, but I'm considering trackers for my next trip. Although there is an Air Tag app in the Play Store, from what I've read, it doesn't have full functionality on Android devices (you may need an Apple device to set it up!). The best option seems to be Tiles, which are very similar to Air Tags. The downside, from what I've read, is that there are fewer Tile users on their network so when your Tile is out of Bluetooth range, it may not get located by another user. The Tile website is here:

https://thetileapp.com/

• We used tiles for a while but never replaced them when the batteries ran out.

• edited July 2022

One thing to remember about all these tracking devices- they may or may not tell you where your bags are, but that doesn't mean they will help you get your bags back.

The media always likes to interview people whose bags were "lost." They are sometimes lucky to locate them (sitting in a big pile in a warehouse at CDG or LHR, etc.), but get little or no help from the airlines getting them back. The most popular stories are ones about people who fly back to Europe to retrieve their bags and need to go from room to room, digging through piles of (smelly) bags, before finally finding them!! And are the airlines paying for this trip- not on your life! Will the insurance company pay for the r/t ticket??? Doubtful! :#

• Whether it helped get the bags back I don’t know. But a couple on our K&T was able to tell the airline where their bags were due to Apple tags and they arrived several days later at the Four Seasons in the Serengeti.