Question on cabin classes

I'm looking at Alaska; Inside Passage, June 2023. The cabin classes vary as such, Classic Veranda, Deck 5, $8890. Superior Veranda, Deck 8 & 7, $9090. Deluxe Veranda, Deck 7 & 6, $9390. So the price goes up as the deck goes up? The description and photos/layout of all of these rooms is exactly the same. Same square footage, amenities, etc. Do you pay more to be on a higher deck? What is the difference between the cabin classes? Any info is helpful. I have only been on Tauck river cruises. Thanks.

Comments

• Like you I'm a novice on ocean cruises. I d o know that yes, in general the higher up you go the higher the price. I did find more information on the different cabins on the Silverseas' website so you might want to look there until someone with actual experience can give you some insight.

• edited June 2022

Even on small ships like Wind Star, it is all about location, location, location. On Wind Start all cabins are 188 sq ft and identical. Deck 1 cabins, B and BX, are less expensive (closer to the machinery spaces?) than Deck 2 cabins, A and AX. Also, there are two classes of cabins on each deck. Cabins closest to the center of buoyancy, AX and BX, are supposedly less likely to experience fore and aft pitching motion than the less expensive A and B cabins on their respective decks. On our recent Treasures of the Aegean it didn't matter- it was so calm that it was almost impossible to tell when the ship was underway.