Luggage limits

I am a beginner at foreign vacation travel.

While we will try and pack most of our things into the two checked bags (1 for each of us), I was wondering about the carry-on luggage. With only two bag tags from Tauck, what is the process for ensuring the carry-on luggage is picked up at the hotel and taken to the ship?

Comments

• edited September 2019

You would ask when you arrive at the hotel. Though I have taken many tours with Tauck, I’ve only taken one river cruise with them and it was this year. We always keep our carry on with us unless we want to site see and then we check it with the concierge. There should be a Tauck rep around who can give you an extra tag, but they need to know they have an extra bag to collect.
    Unlike many people we use small backpacks for carry on, taking iPad, camera, travel docs two changes of clothes, book to read, meds etc and all valuables, we never put valuables in checked baggage. We can easily carry that around with us no problem and it’s easier to run through an airport when necessary because of flight delays and when getting off the plane to briskly walk to immigrate lines.

• When you check in you will be offered additional luggage tags for any carry-on luggage you want transferred from the hotel to the ship and from the ship to the final hotel, and/or from that hotel to the airport. All the bags you leave with those tags will automatically be transferred to the next stop. That's great if you bring a carry-on on the flight with essentials but trust Tauck to get them to your next stop.

You can also take a carry-on with you on bus transfers (like from the hotel to a tour that will then end up on the ship) and leave it on the bus. Small bags can go in the overhead rack and they will put larger ones in the luggage compartment below. We were told the buses were locked and safe to leave belongings in during the tour.