Options

Alaska for our 50th anniversary

2»

Comments

• Options

Well, happiest 50th to al of you. I've just been married 32 years and sometimes it teels like 50 when other times it feels like a honeymoon. I ask my 90 year old mom what her secret is to her happy marriage and her reply is "ignore". I'm still learning.

• Options

We just passed through our 40th this year. It's amazing how many trips there have been titled, "Our 40th Anniversary Trip".

Let's see Cozumel, Las Vegas (where we were married), and our Tauck Essence of South America coming up in less than a month.

Happy Wife, Happy Life! 😂

• Options

Smiling Sam
    Las Vegas (where we were married),

Was Elvis involved?

• Options

No Elvis, but we were dressed in shorts and flip-flops and it was in the Little White Chapel on the Strip. Yes it was a spur of the moment elopement. We were in Phoenix for a friends wedding (this was when we lived in Seattle, not Tucson) and had an extra day so we decided to drive up to Las Vegas and get married. That was 40+ years ago. :D

• Options

cathyandsteve - I hesitate to say this but I don't think India is a very "romantic" location.

I agree with Cathy with respect to the 'romantic' aspect, with a couple of exceptions (at least on the Portrait of India tour):

a) as a set the hotels (mostly Oberoi hotels) are the best of any Tauck tour we've been on
    b) the 'Tauck special' was a parade to dinner. The parade included elephants, horses, band, ... There was entertainment at dinner and a special fireworks/candle ceremony after dinner in conjunction with India's Diwali Festival of Lights celebration

Those, if not romantic, are at least very special.

When I recommended the Portrait of India and the Vietnam, Cambodia, and Thailand tour it wasn't driven by the romantic aspect of either.

If 'romance' is the driver, then I doubt that any tour is a good selection, unless it is a private tour for two.

• Options
    MCDMCD
    edited September 2023