Options

First time going on a safari!

2»

Comments

• Options
    edited April 28

Your comment would have been better received if you framed it as how it affected you personally. We all have a right to our feelings, such as you expressed about people who are not polite when taking pictures. But to suggest that no one can enjoy an excursion if they take pictures, and should look at pictures in the National Geographic, is no longer a comment about how something affects you. It's an assunption of how someone else feels, or should feel.

I realize you didn't intend that comment to me directly.

Regarding experience in photography, in my youth, I worked as a professional photographer, mostly doing weddings and portraits - back in the film days. I shot some nice cameras, including Hasselblad. Weddings aren't that great for creativity, but they forced you to be a good technical photographer. People (actually, the bride) bought the photos and demanded good technical photos - well lit, good focus, good framing, and of the right event and people. Bad photos, no money.

We used to say that all weddings looked alike, the only thing that changed was the people. And that's true - everyone wanted the same shots. I only shot a few "unique" weddings - one was two hippies, outdoor wedding, and that was interesting. The parents were as straight as can be.

Film was much more difficult than digital. We had to get the right exposure (most cameras did not include a light meter) and you only had a limited number of shots on a roll. You had to make sure you didn't run out of shots while some event was going on, such as throwing the bouguet. They usually bought that shot. I had to tell the bride to keep her arm up in the air after she threw it because I'd wait until the bouguet was almost over the other women and they were all reaching for it. If the bride dropped her arm, it didn't produce as nice of a picture. And you only had one chance to get that shot.