Feedback from travel photographers, Iphone 12Pro vs traditional cameras

milmil
edited November 2020 in Announcements

Hello .
I've always taken my Nikon D7500 camera with me on Vac. with a wide angle lens and a 55-300 mm but also as a backup ,I do take my Iphone . Now with the new 12 pro, it looks like cameras will be a thing of the past... and with all the travel restrictions it might be really uncomfortable to carry with all that weight and equipment . I checked the features and it looks amazing.
Check this out:
iPhone 12 Pro and 12 Pro Max cameras. The 12 Pro and 12 Pro Max both have a triple camera setup on the back. There is a 12MP ultra wide-angle lens with ƒ/2.4 aperture, a 12MP wide-angle lens with ƒ/1.6 aperture, and a 12MP telephoto lens with ƒ/2.0 aperture. They both support Night Mode, Deep Fusion, and Smart HDR for photos.

What are your thoughts?

Comments

• MIL: I have been using DSLRs for many years and I have a Samsung Galaxy S9 smartphone. I have never owned an Apple Phone so I can't speak to that. I do agree that the newest smartphones are totally amazing yet I don't think that they will ever replace DSLRs for the true Pro Photographer or Hobbyist. My main reason for not giving up a DSLR is that I like to shoot images in the RAW mode in order to capture all of the information in an image for post processing. While the new I Phone 12 looks very impressive, I read that the formats for this phone are JPG or HEIF. I was not familiar with the HEIF format so I did a bit of research. The one site I went to stated the following: