Iberia Airline Business Class

I am looking at flights for this trip in 2023. Has anyone flown business class on Iberia Airlines? If so, what was your experience?

There is a nonstop from ORD outbound to Madrid and a one-stop inbound from Lisbon. I can then avoid Heathrow and Amsterdam. However, there are many unfavorable reviews on Trip Advisor, and others.

Comments

• We are flying TAP to Spain via Lisbon in November, it doesn’t get good reviews but the schedule was the best for our needs.

• edited August 2022

I've only taken Iberia within Europe and they were fine. I have no transatlantic experience with them. I, however, prefer flying European carriers (Air France, KLM, et al) over U. S. based carriers when flying abroad. Just my personal preference.

• Iberia is based in Spain, so it qualifies as a European carrier. :D

• Yes, as I said.

• edited August 2022

TAP has been absolutely fine the several times I've flown them, incl. transatlantic, within Europe and to/from Morocco.

• We flew Iberia, premium economy, this past June. Our Douro tour started in Lisbon and ended in Madrid. So... we had a connection in Madrid on our way to Lisbon. Nice flights and service. Like others have mentioned, we wanted to avoid Heathrow. There are numerous daily flights from Madrid to Lisbon. Tauck Air was initially suggesting Chicago to Philadelphia then Lisbon. Might have been on American. I told the rep that I prefer to get directly to Europe and if my flight from Chicago is delayed, I have more options in Madrid to get to Lisbon. A delayed/missed connection in Philadelphia would more likely require an overnight there and a day's late arrival in Lisbon. I think there was a thread posted earlier this year about a similar discussion. Some stated their preference for being delayed/stuck in the US. I think that would allow fewer options/flights. If you are starting the tour in Madrid you don't have that concern.